Jane

Hi there. Somehow a couple of weeks have snuck between posts. It’s all MOF’s fault (aka a Month of Finishings). After my last post I realized that I am completely serious about it. Yikes, that almost sounds responsible…

But I have to tell you about Jane…

It was fantastic! Was there ever any doubt. I decided to leave the novel till after seeing the film to enjoy it in it’s own right. I’m glad I did, it didn’t disappoint. Mia Wasikowska captured all of the complexities of Jane beautifully. Michael Fassbender was the perfect Byronic lead. And the production design was breathtaking. I particularly loved the wonderfully dark night scenes. Not a single hint of blue ‘moonlight’ in the background. Creaky Haddon Hall was swathed in inky black pierced only by a low flickering flame. Lots of long menacing shadows. Perfectly chilling!

At it’s end I was ejected onto a dark empty street dazed and completely satisfied. Itching to somehow capture that oppressive atmosphere on paper. The contrast between the stoic rigidity of society at the time and the wild natural world all around it intrigues me; feeling reflective of the imprisoned passions within the people themselves. It reminds me of Jane Campion’s ‘The Piano’ that way.

The images above were discovered on Flickr. I love the intense colour and atmosphere in each of them. The first is one of a fascinating series of rare Daguerreotypes owned by Rob Stevens. Some of these priceless objects were dug up in flea markets – imagine that!  I love the subjects intense, almost burning, gaze. Such an intriguing portrait.

The two breathtaking landscapes below it are by photographer Irene Suchocki. Do check out her work. Eye Poetry, the name of her site is the most wonderful description of it. Every image has a beautiful narrative quality that I find completely compelling.
~

I’ll have things to show v.soon thanks to MOF. Sure feels good to say that! What pops up may seem a little all over the place but at least my pile of loose end projects will be shrinking. And now that the spring cleaning bug has bitten that has to be good.

Happy Creative Space!

Images | 6th Plate, Rob Stevens | Spying on a Tree, Irena Suchoki | Il Sentiero, Irena Suchoki | Jane Eyre 2011 Movie Poster detail, Design by BLT & Associates | Jane Eyre, Tiffany Lin | Pencil sketch Alisa Coburn | To view larger or for licencing click on image titles. Images by Rob Stevens and Irena Suchoki are used with kind permission and are subject to copyright.  

10 thoughts on “Jane

  1. What a lovely and interesting post. Now I have to go to the movie. And then read the book. Because Alisa said I should. That’s enough of a reason! And to come away inspired to draw is another good reason. Thanks!

  2. So glad you’re back… I was wondering where you had go to ?? 🙂

    What a beautiful post… great images!! I am SO intrigued to see Jane now!!! Sounds amazing! I love that sort of thing!

  3. You have nailed it completely Alisa! It’s that foreboding feeling, the chill of repressed passions – just breathtaking 🙂 Love the images you’ve found. I’m off to check out your links now. Hoping that Jane Eyre will be one of the movies on the plane – it’s the only way I get to see new releases! 😉 Great post and definitely worth the wait! Good luck with your MOFs (sounds rude, doesn’t it?) :))
    Kx

  4. The images you found are beautiful 🙂 I have read the book and I love it and really can’t wait to read it again! A couple weeks ago, I finally watched this more recent Jane Eyre and I completely love it, I rented it thinking it could never compare to the BBC version of Jane Eyre but it does and now I have to go buy it!

    if you haven’t seen the BBC version, the whole thing is on youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2XsB22Qjz3A it is really, really good!

  5. Oh gosh, I would love to find a Daguerreotype at a flea market! I can dream, can’t I?
    You will love the book too, I really must re-read it again, it has been (too) many years since I last read it. The photos you found are exquisite.
    Your pencil sketches capture Jane so well also.
    Cat

  6. This is a brilliant post – I have so enjoyed reading it being a fellow fan of both book and film, I thought the atmosphere, the set design, the acting and even the lighting and editing were just brilliant – so fitting!

    Daguerrotypes are fascinating, there was one of a beautiful- looking horse in a local antiques shop but someone snapped it up before I did!

    Jem xXx

  7. I love the way you connect a mid 19th century photo with a mid 19th century novel. Jane Eyre was published in 1847, the daguerreotype dates back to the late 1840s or the early 1850s. Well done!

  8. While I was visiting home, I got to look around Haddon Hall. It took me a while to realise that it was the place from the film: the outside was covered in colourful blooms, the inside looked so much brighter.

Comments are closed.