Wintery wanderings

WinterWanderings1WinteryWanderings1MossyCarpetWinterWander2

Just a few pics of our wanderings of late. Sniffles and sore throats have kept us close to home but that’s ok, it’s nice to have the time to breath in your surroundings and winter is more of a snuggly indoors sort of season anyway.

The creek has well and truly taken on it’s winter look. All the lush green has moved from the branches to the ground in wonderful carpets of emerald moss. I still wish I lived somewhere snowy in the winter, but I love the distinct change in seasons here. The light is softer and the shadows bluer. I love smelling woodburning fires in the evening and seeing my breath in the morning. And there really is nothing better than the crisp air of a clear wintery day, especially if you find a sunny spot to curl up in like a cat. I would have made a good cat.

WinterWaterc1WinterWaterc2WinterWaterc3

In other news:

  • I’ve been really enjoying the Pinterest community lately and the wonderful new links it has thrown my way. Especially thisthis and this.
  • Over the weekend I showed my little chickens this cute clip from ‘Ride’em Cowboy’ and have had to play it again and again and again. Good job I’m a huge Ella fan!
  • Watched Garden State and Black Swan back-to-back and loved them both. Now I’m addicted to this song and have listened to it again and again and again and again. Sadly, it didn’t go unnoticed, comparisons were made and I was forced by sheer whining to remedy the shortfall quick smart! I fear my Mummy swindling days are over, either that or my cons have to get much craftier.
14 thoughts on “Wintery wanderings

  1. Your photographs and illustrations are so lovely, Alisa. I can spend hours reading through your posts…

    I wanted to let you know that I got your package — thank you so very much!!

    1. I’m so glad you like your little parcel and it got to you OK Monica! After all you’ve had to wait long enough. : )
      And I’m so glad you left your link, I didn’t know you had a blog. x Alisa

  2. Beautiful paintings as usual, i too love a mossy rock and one of my fave movies of all time is Garden State. will these pictures by printed onto bookmarks as a clever Leonie suggested! great idea!

  3. I wish I lived somewhere where it NEVER snowed during the winter. 🙂 Garden State is one of my favorite movies of all time. Lovely photos as always. take care!

  4. Thanks everyone for the lovely feedback. 🙂
    These are colour experiments for another piece; trying a few things out to see what works best.
    I’ve also been pondering what would be best to open my Etsy with. Thanks Leonie and Cath, I hadn’t thought of bookmarks! These are more gift tag size… hmmm
    xx Alisa

  5. Gorgeous work Alisa! I especially love the leaf, the flowers are gorgeous too. You have a definite “style”.

    In answer to your question whether the book is going well. I have done most of the sketches for my dummy book. I am hoping to do the first real page soon and scan the sketches to send the dummy book to the publisher. So much fun!

  6. Gorgeous pics! I love Garden State and the soundtrack – infact, we used the soundtrack to lull our baby boy to sleep years ago. No wonder he loves it now – he’s heard it about a trillion times! So mellow!

Comments are closed.