Treasures from the shore

SeaTreasures1ShellPressingsRedSeaweedShore

The weather is changing here, winter is creeping in. I’m loving the sunshine and the crisp air. Thinking about botanical treasures and curiosities found on the shoreline. Poring over seaweed pressings and botanical collections. Admiring the weather-beaten quality in everything touched by the tide.

As synchronicity would have it, this week my ‘big girl’ brought home a bag of seashells from school. They’re so beautiful, I wish I could say that we found them ourselves. Gently brushing off the sand before tucking them into our beachcomber baskets but if I did my nose would grow and start to attract nesting birds. They did, however, inspire the eldest (budding zoologist and loyal Bindi Irwin fan) to plan an immediate shell finding expedition and if I’m very lucky she might take me.

Images | Sea Feathers, dsbrennan | Conanicut Park, Diana BrennanRed Seaweed Pressing, cordyceps | Combers Beach, basic sounds.
To view larger or for licencing click on image titles .

7 thoughts on “Treasures from the shore

  1. those shells are absolutely beautiful Alisa and so is that pic.
    kids & especially I, love seashell finds, such a wonderful thing to do together.
    at least you wil be going on the shell finding expedition.

    happy weekend ♥

  2. How come those sea shore treasures look nothing like the STINKY ones (bits of seal skeleton and shark eggs and whatnot) that always end up at our house?

  3. Such dazzlers, Alisa..I speak not only of those shells, but of course your little one. She’s absolutely precious smiling at those treasures! Gorgeous post – and links..and who can not love Bindi? Thank you for visiting..I have been so horrible at visiting as I’ve been so very busy with home/work/but I will try harder! Yes, and Nate Williams and his site are awesome. Thanks for the congrats..it is such an honor. : )
    Wishing you a most wonderful week!

  4. your art is beautiful, truly. as a photographer, though, i’m drawn to your photography, which is absolutely stunning, too. so maybe art is in the eye and not the medium? love the photo of your daughter w the shells, and those below of the clothes spinning… great idea. beautiful work.

Comments are closed.