Amelia is Published!

AmeliaCoverAmeliaHairAmeliaPortraitAmeliaPostmanAmeliaSleep

In my creative space today I have a freshly printed stack of books. My first published children’s book!
I can hardly believe it’s here, actually in my hands! I am busily photographing it for my poor neglected folio.

‘Amelia Has Cancer‘ is a non-fiction children’s book designed to help parents and teachers explain cancer to newly diagnosed children. Alison came up with the idea when her little girl, Amelia, was diagnosed with Neuroblastoma cancer and Alison had to explain to her children what it was and what was going to happen. She soon realized that there really wasn’t a resource to help. Everything was too dry, too clinical and way too dull. They were books that simply wouldn’t hold a child’s attention.

So Alison, a mother of five and a science teacher, came up with one that would. A book that spoke directly to children informed by her families journey from diagnosis to recovery. She took her idea to Carolyn Dodds at Cure Our Kids, another incredibly inspiring woman, and the project was underway.

I found the beginning of the project hugely challenging, it’s a difficult subject to face let alone understand. It’s difficult not to get emotionally swept away. But I couldn’t think of a more worthwhile project to work on. And I think Alison’s straightforward voice next to the gentle images manages to strike the right note on a threatening subject.

I enjoyed the whole process, particularly having the opportunity to design the book in conjunction with the illustrations. And it was fantastic to be working with such driven, inspirational women. If my future holds more projects as satisfying as this one I will be one happy girl.

Check out lots more creative spaces over at Kirsty’s wonderful Kootoyoo.

25 thoughts on “Amelia is Published!

  1. Oh my! What an amazing time to find your blog. Your illustrations and the design are absolutely amazing. I’m very glad to have met you and wish the book every success. x

  2. This is such a beautiful idea – my 8 year old recently lost a friend to cancer and had lots of questions. The illustrations are beautiful.

  3. What a beautiful and very important book! The illustrations are lovely and I’m sure the book will help so many children and parents and teachers cope with such a very difficult topic. Good job! 🙂

  4. Oh Alisa, this is just so exquisite and wonderful and worthwhile all rolled into one 🙂 Just beautiful – thanks so much for showing this. I’m more than just a bit teary though, I’m afraid… my nephew had this same cancer and he was 6 when he passed away. That was 9 years ago now but I still find it so hard.
    Anyway, this is just beautiful work and so glad to see you back 🙂 Kx

  5. I love your style of illustration Alisa, it’s beautiful. What a wonderful way to be able to help families dealing with the life changing events of kids with cancer. It’s a great idea.

  6. Chantal, Kylie, Jodie and Michelle,
    Thank you so much for your lovely thoughtful comments, they mean the world to me. : )
    xx Alisa

  7. oh alisa it’s gorgeous. and what a brilliant idea too. such a satisfying project for you. i’m sure it will bring to lots of children a clarity and simplicity about the subject that they could not have got anywhere else.

  8. Hello, hello, hello! And welcome back! So happy to see that you’ve found yourself in a beautiful and quaint little town. And my oh my, this book is FANTASTIC! I’m surprised there aren’t many cancer books targeted toward children. There is a great need for books like this. Your illustrations are heartwarming and friendly and adorable, the perfect tone for an otherwise tough subject. Congratulations on an excellent job well done!

  9. It looks great. I’ll pass on this link to my friend. She lost her 5 year old son, but knows many others through the support groups. Maybe this will help some of them.

  10. Thanks guys!! So thrilled you dropped by to check it out and so, so grateful for all the wonderful feedback.
    xx Alisa : )

  11. Wow – a beautiful concept and wonderful design!
    I’m sure many families will benefit from the great work that you two girlies have produced.
    Well done!

  12. Alisa. I am SO SO very happy for you!! What an accomplishment..not only are your illustrations absolutely beautifully done, but there is an amazing sweetness to Amelia and the book design is gorgeous. Super duper congratulations on such a worthwhile, and very important topic. I am sure many people will find this invaluable. KUDOS!!!

  13. Hi Alisa! Very nice to here from you! It seems I have missed a lot in your blog. Congratulations on your first children’s book. I am sure there will be more to come. You have a beautiful and warm style that is very pleasing 🙂 Thanks for dropping by my blog the other day 😀

    Great work and keep it up!

  14. I wish I could say that no one would ever have to go through that with our little one, but sadly it is such a hot topic… we just lost a little school friend this week, so tragic… I wish you all the best with the book
    X

  15. Alisa this is gorgeous, congratulations! Such a nice accompaniment to the text. I love the colours and the simplicity of the illustrations too. I am sure there will be more books to come.

  16. It’s been a while since I’ve checked out your blog, and I’ve missed so many beautiful things. This one is especially special. I am so proud of you x

Comments are closed.